Announcing Baltimore City & Montgomery County as Certified Welcoming

In these unprecedented times of both a pandemic and national conversation on racism, the need for communities to translate welcoming values into policies and practices that create more inclusive environments is greater than ever.

That is why we are pleased to announce the newest additions to the growing list of Certified Welcoming places in the United States: the City of Baltimore and Montgomery County, both located in Maryland.

With these places, there are now 10 cities and counties in the U.S. that are Certified Welcoming. Communities that are Certified Welcoming capitalize on the power of inclusive policies and culture to ensure all residents—including immigrants—contribute, participate, and thrive. Certification builds a competitive advantage and access to opportunities on a regional, national, and global stage.

According to research by New American Economy, immigrants comprised 15% of Maryland’s residents in 2014, to a total of 886,650 residents. More than 120,000 people across the state are employed by immigrant-owned businesses. As of 2014, immigrants held more than $24.6 billion in spending power. In Montgomery County, one-third of all residents are foreign-born; in the City of Baltimore, immigrants helped stem a declining population in 2018.

“We congratulate the City of Baltimore and Montgomery County on becoming Certified Welcoming places,” said Rachel Peric, Executive Director of Welcoming America. “By becoming Certified Welcoming, leaders in both places are demonstrating their long-term commitment to ensuring that the racial and ethnic diversity of Maryland is not only celebrated, but that new and longtime residents alike are active participants in the civic, social and economic fabric of the places they call home. ” 

Both the City of Baltimore and Montgomery County completed an intensive evaluation earlier this year to earn the Certified Welcoming designation. Local policies and programs were compared to the comprehensive Welcoming Standard that covers community investments from education to economic development to emergency response. The Gilchrist Community Resource Center and the Office of Community Partnerships led the certification process in Montgomery County and the Mayor’s Office of Immigrant Affairs led the process in the City of Baltimore.

What is Certified Welcoming?
The Certified Welcoming establishes a formal designation for cities and counties that have taken action on their commitment to welcoming and met the high bar set by the Welcoming Standard. Participants complete a rigorous, independent audit to evaluate their compliance with the Standard. Both Certified Welcoming and the Welcoming Standard were designed following standards set by ISEAL. 

What is the Welcoming Standard? 
The Welcoming Standard captures the core of what it means to be an inclusive community. Developed in collaboration with local governments, advocates, diverse set of experts, and with input from the public at large, the Standard provides a comprehensive roadmap for immigrant inclusion. The Welcoming Standard addresses a range of essential policies, programs, and partnerships, from language access to hiring practices.


For Media Inquiries:
Lola Pak, Director of Communications
Welcoming America
[email protected]