Certified Welcoming

Strong communities intentionally connect and include people of all backgrounds. As places look to harness the wealth and vibrancy that comes from diverse talents and a global workforce, truly welcoming places can set themselves apart.

Certified Welcoming is a formal designation for cities and counties that have created policies and programs reflecting their values and commitment to immigrant inclusion. This innovative program assesses city and county governments on their efforts to include and welcome immigrants in all areas of civic, social, and economic life in their communities.

With a Certified Welcoming designation, communities distinguish their local efforts, build a competitive advantage, and gain access to opportunities to share their welcoming practices on a regional, national, and global stage.

Visit the Certified Welcoming website to learn more:

The Welcoming Standard serves as the backbone of the Certified Welcoming program. It outlines the core of what it means for a community to be welcoming and sets out the policies, programs, and partnerships that give communities the welcoming edge.

There are seven categories that comprise the Welcoming Standard, each of which have core and additional requirements. In order for communities to achieve Certified Welcoming status, they must meet the core requirements within each category, which are:

  1. Government and Community Leadership
  2. Equitable Access
  3. Civic Engagement
  4. Connected Communities
  5. Education
  6. Economic Development
  7. Safe Communities

Learn more about what it means to be a welcoming place through the Welcoming Standard.